PCB announces 15-member squad for West Indies series

(Web Desk) – Three uncapped players including Shaheen Afridi, Asif Ali and Hussain Talat—who represented franchises of Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United in PSL-3—have made their way in the national side for first time as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday announced 15-member squad for upcoming home series against West Indies.

Pakistan and West Indies will play three T20 international matches in Karachi from April-1 to April-3.

Other players include Sarfraz Ahmed (skipper), Mohmmad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Babar Azam, Ahmed Shehzad, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Amir, Hassan Ali, Rahat Ali, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shoaib Malik and Faheem Ashraf.

The selection committee—led by Inzamamul Haq and head coach Mickey Arthur—has ignored Kamran Akmal despite his impressive show with the bat in the recently concluded PSL. The committee cited concerns over his age and poor fielding.

It is pertinent here to mention that strict security arrangements have been ensured for the historic series as international cricket is gradually returning to Pakistan in the wake of improved security situation.

Read also: Ronchi, Asif help Islamabad United to regain PSL title

As many as 23 international players participated in the PSL’s eliminators and final held in Lahore and Karachi respectively. World-XI, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka had already visited Pakistan.

The country witnessed a famine of international cricket for nearly a decade after an attack on Sri Lankan team in Lahore.

Facebook Comments